Newbie here, need some answers!!

Weather & Road Conditions discussion forum to from and around, Mammoth Lakes, June, Bishop and the surrounding areas.

Newbie here, need some answers!!

Postby william34 » Tue Jan 08, 2013 11:37 pm

Hey guys my girlfriend and I are planning a trip to LA/Las vegas next month (Feb 9-19). We were supossed to stay in las vegas and LA and then suddenly she came up with the idea of doing some ski and skip some of the activities we had planned, so in the last few days I've been researching like mad because there is so much to chose from.

Being a first timer not only ski but first time touching snow I had really no idea at all about this, I've been in the forum for a couple hours reading but still got some question I'd like you to help me out.

1. We want to leave LV in feb.12 and head to mammoth by car, departing at midnight to arrive on time and settle up. is the weather or road conditions challenging at this time of the year? What cautions should we take? I can see in the forum there are many cops in the area and you take speed limit very seriously, unlike my country. We plan to stay 3 days 2 nights.

2. Snow conditions, we have never touched snow but are excited to learn ski and snowboarding, according to your experience how is the snow condition at this month? Is the snow real or artificial?

3. Personal opinion here... I've been reading about all these places but im just not sure where to go. Every place has its con and pros. diamond peak, squaw, sugar bowl, big bear, etc. Would you consider mammoth worth the 6 hour drive if you were departing from las vegas?

I want a nice view for pictures, not so crowded place so we can free practice and most importantly a beginner-friendly ski place. And also which hotel do you recommend for our stay?

Sorry for so many questions, this is our first time and dont want to get there unprepared. :D

Thanks
william34
Sesame street
Sesame street

Re: Newbie here, need some answers!!